Wednesday, June 20, 2012

2011-2012 NHL Awards

1) With the Kings Cup and the NHL regular season now in the books, and the NHL awards show set to go off tonight in LasVegas we figured we'd review who SHOULD win the various awards As we mentioned earlier this is the Unofficial LAST part of the 2011-2012 NHL season. After tonight sights will be set upon 2012-2013 with the NHL draft set to go off in Pittsburgh. Look for our first pre-draft post this Friday!

2) Hart Memorial Trophy- Given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Finalists : Henrik Lundqvist,  Evgeni Malkin,  Steven Stamkos. Great season for Stamkos but his team didn't qualify for the playoffs. Its rare for goalies to win this award unless they have extraordinary stats and carry a mediocre team into the playoffs(Hasek)  Geno was the best offensive layer this season AND the pens made the playoffs. Easy choice.  Winner Malkin 

3) Vezina Trophy is given to the goalkeeper judged to be the best at this position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs. Finalists are: Henrik Lundqvist, Pekka Rinne,  Jonathan Quick. All 3 had magnificent seasons, but there was a reason why 'Hank' was nominated for the Hart as well. He was the best goalie from start to finish this season. Winner: Lundqvist

4) James Norris Memorial Trophy given to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Finalists are:  Zdeno Chara,  Erik Karlsson,  Shea Weber. Chara has no chance. In what we believe will be the closest vote all evening it will come down to voters casting their ballot for the best offensive defensemen or the best all around defensemen.  If it is as it should be the ladder will win it.  Winner: Weber

5) Calder Memorial Trophy- given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Finalists: Adam Henrique,  Gabriel Landeskog, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins. Had Ryan stayed healthy all season there is little doubt he'd be a shoe-in.  Henriqu had a nice regular season, but the playoffs don't count else he'd win.  Gabreil displayed poise and skill in both ends of the rink. A rarity for a player his age.  Winner: Landeskog

6) Lady Byng Memorial Trophy- given to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. What exactly is the purpose of this award? Traditionally to the best player who doesn't fight much, and also isn't going to win any of the other awards? Finalists: Brian Campbell, Jordan Eberle, Matt Moulson. Silly award that will probably be given to a defensemen, a rarity to have one with so few PIM's Winner: Campbell 

7) Frank J. Selke Trophy- given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. One of the more difficult trophies to predict as the criteria is unclear/ambiguous. From past winners it has recently gone to the forward who COMBINES good defensive numbers (+/- and PK numbers) with good offensive numbers. Finalsts: David Backes,  Patrice Bergeron, Pavel Datsyuk. This award i as much  a popularity contest as any other with the past winners always the favourite Winner Datsuyk 

8) Jack Adams Award- presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association to the NHL coach judged to have contributed the most to his team's success. Finalists: Ken Hitchcock, Paul Maclean, John Tortorella. Hats off to Paul Maclean, the rookie coach who brought his team back to respectability, but the clear winner is Hitch who single handedly changed the Blues from a loser to a division power in mere months  Winner:  Hitchock

9) Ted Lindsay Award (former Pearson) presented annually to the "Most Outstanding Player" in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA Usually this is a rubber stamp of the Hart, so look for Malkin to win here too! Winner: Malkin

10) Messier Leadership Award We left out the sponsor's name as we feel this is the ONLY reason it is included (they paid for the award!) Its a dumb concept and we absolutely hate it. The only award named after a person who isn't dead! Finalists: Dustin Brown, Ryan Callahan, Shane Doan. As the NHL owns and wants the Coyotes to look good they will push for one of their own to win this  Winner: Doan

11) Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy- given to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. Another difficult award to handicap. Seems to lately go to the player who makes the best comeback Finalists: Daniel Alfredsson, Joffrey Lupul, Max Pacioretty.  Yes, and all Canadian team finalists. The league needed to award at least one trophy to a team north of the border  Winner: Alfredsson   


Puck Stops Here said...

Why are you so quick to say Chara has no chance? He didn't win but I think he was the most valuable defender this year. He outscored Weber and plays better defence than him too.


1) Not diminishing his worth, but weighing his chances based upon the prvailing sentiment of it being between Weber and Karlsson
2) In our opinion the ottawa defender didn't deserve to win regardless of his point totals

Contact the Media