Wednesday, June 22, 2011

2010-2011 NHL Awards!

1) With the NHL regular season now in the books, and the NHL awards show set to go off tonight in LasVegas we figured we'd review who SHOULD win the various awards As we mentioned earlier this is the Unofficial LAST part of the 2010-2011 NHL season. After tonight sights will be set upon 2011-2012 with the NHL draft set to go off in Minneapolis. Look for our first pre-draft post this Friday!

2) Hart Memorial Trophy- Given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.
Finalsts : Martin St Louis, Daniel Sedin and Cory Perry. Its unfortunate but we believe that Sedin will win the same award his twin underachieving brother won last year. Sure he and Henrik had terrific regular seasons, but sullied their reputations with their pussy-like play in the playoffs and especially, The Finals. We'd of voted for St Louis

3) Vezina Trophy is given to the goalkeeper judged to be the best at this position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs. Finalists are: Roberto Luongo, Pekka Rinne, and Tim Thomas. Here we believe the injustice of the Hart will be cleansed with the correct selection of Thomas. Completing his dream season of this honor to go with his ConSmythe and of course The Cup. If the choke artist known as Luongo wins we shut off the TV!

4) James Norris Memorial Trophy given to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Finalists are Zdeno Chara, Nicklas Lidstrom, and Shea Weber. All 3 had great seasons but we'd have to give the nod to the ageless wonder, Lidstrom. He has won the award six times. If he wins tonight, it would tie Lidstrom with Montreal's Doug Harvey at seven Norris trophies, only one from Boston legend Bobby Orr!

5) Calder Memorial Trophy- given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Finalists: Logan Couture, Michael Grabner, and Jeff Skinner. No consensus here with Couture and Skinner, but we feel the teen from Carolina will take home the hardware.

6) Lady Byng Memorial Trophy- given to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. What exactly is the purpose of this award? Traditionally to the best player who doesn't fight much, and also isn't going to win any of the other awards? Finalists: Loui Eriksson, Nicklas Lidstrom, Martin St Louis. Who wins? St. Louis ofcourse for the aforementioned reason.

7) Frank J. Selke Trophy- given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. One of the more difficult trophies to predict as the criteria is unclear/ambiguous. From past winners it has recently gone to the forward who COMBINES good defensive numbers (+/- and PK numbers) with good offensive numbers. Finalsts: Pavel Datsyuk, Ryan Kesler, and Jonathan Toews. From the numbers we'd say Kesler will win tonight

8) Jack Adams Award- presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association to the NHL coach judged to have contributed the most to his team's success. Finalsts: Dan Bylsma, Barry Trotz, Alain vigneault. The first 2 deserve to be there as they guided their teams to over achieve based upon talent and injuries. The Canucks coach simply had to show up, no credit for that! Our pick is Bylsma who didn't allow his penguin team to fold up after they lost their 2 super stars. Had they been healthy the pens probably win the Cup, but Trotz wouldn't be a bad choice either

9) Ted Lindsay Award (former Pearson) presented annually to the "Most Outstanding Player" in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA Usually this is a rubber stamp of the Hart, so look for Sedin to win here too

10) Messier Leadership Award We left out the sponsor's name as we feel this is the ONLY reason it is included (they paid for the award!) Its a dumb concept and we absolutely hate it. The only award named after a person who isn't dead! Chara will win it

11) Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy- given to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. Another difficult award to handicap. Seems to lately go to the player who makes the best comeback Finalists: Ray Emery, Daymond Langkow, and Ian Laperriere. Have absolutely no feel for this one. Based upon the necessities can't see how Emery could even be a finalist. No cancer survivors this year?

No comments:

Contact the Media